

C/-South Australian Research & Development Institute GPO Box 397, ADELAIDE SA 5001

Phone: (08) 8303 9400 Email: howard.trust@sa.gov.au

ANNUAL REPORT 2022

The Trustees of the AW Howard Memorial Trust met as a committee on 29 April 2022 and 14 November 2022. Advice was considered from the Trust's Research sub-committee on the awarding of Grants, Scholarships and Research Fellowships.

Three applications were received for a **Travel Grant** of up to \$5,000 and one was awarded.

Name	Employer	Travel Grant Details
Dylan Male	La Trobe	'Eurasian Grassland Conference 12-18 September 2022 –
	University	Spain' or 'International Grassland Congress 14-19 May
		2023 – USA' (\$5,000)

Five applications were received for an **Early-Career Research Grant** of up to \$15,000 and one was awarded.

Name	Institution	Details
Vy Nguyen	University of Adelaide	Harnessing precision genome breeding for Common vetch improvement by implementing multiplex CRISPR genome editing

One application was awarded for a **Grant-in-Aid**.

Name	Institution	Details
Rob Shea	Perennial	Commission two papers to be presented by the authors
	Pasture	at the 12th Annual PPS Conference to be held Ararat
	Systems	Victoria on August 23rd, 2022 (\$4,800)

Honours-Masters Scholarship

Seven applications were received for an Honours Scholarship (\$5,000 stipend, \$3,000 operating) and five were awarded.

Name	Institution	Details
Brodie	University	Brigalow, buffel, birds and bovines; integrating
Crouch	of	conservation with production in Central Queensland
	Queensland	
Jaylie Ryan	University	Assessment of soil carbon in Waite Arboretum using infra-
	of Adelaide	red spectroscopy as a predictor of aggregate stability and
		erosion potential

OFFICIAL

Marshall Tye	Murdoch	Regulation of symbiotic nitrogen fixation in
	University	Mesorhizobium ciceri
Hugh Reiser	University	The effect of grazing strategies of kikuyu pasture on milk
	of Qld	production in dairy cows
Mikayla	University	Utilising Competitive Pastures at Different Planting
Scanlan	of Qld	Densities to Supress Growth and Control Spread of
		Eragrostis curvula, Eragrostis cilianensis and Eragrostis
		trichophora

Research Fellowship

Three applications were received for an AW Howard Research Fellowship and two were awarded. The Fellowship is valued at \$10,000 per annum until the completion of the candidate's PhD for a maximum of 3½ years.

Name	Institution	Details
Alicia Quinn	Monash	Controlling dhurrin biosynthesis: Transcriptional regulation
	University	of a cyanogenic glycoside in Sorghum
Ruby Wiese	University	Building new technologies for sustainable and profitable
	of WA	sub clover seed harvesting

The value of the Fellowship will be increased to \$15,000 per annum (for up to 3.5 years). To commence in the next round of applications in 2023.

Tim Healey Scholarship

Eleven applications were received for the Tim Healey Scholarship and three were awarded. The Scholarship is valued at \$10,000 per annum until the completion of the candidate's PhD for a maximum of 3½ years.

Name	Institution	Details
Alistair	University	Barriers to effective introgression of Cicer echinospermum
Hockey	of WA	P.H. Davis to enhance genetic diversity and adaptive
		potential in chickpea (Cicer arietinum L.).
George	University	Transforming Biosolids into Stable Soil Carbon for Australian
Mercer	of WA	Agroecosystems
James	University	Recovering nutrients from food waste for sustainable
O'Connor	of WA	fertilisers for agriculture

Howard Medal and Oration

The medal was presented to Associate Professor Max Shelton by Lindsay Bell at the Agronomy conference in Toowoomba in September. His oration was well received and will be added to the Howard Trust website when it becomes available.

The next Agronomy conference will be held in WA in 2024. It was agreed that this is the best forum for the medal presentation and oration.

OFFICIAL

Vacancy for Dean of Waite/Head of the University of Adelaide's School of Agriculture, Food and Wine

Professor Jason Able accepted an invitation to become a member of the AW Howard Memorial Trust Management Committee, a position formerly held by Professor Martin Cole.

Vacancy for Dean of Roseworthy Campus, University of Adelaide or equivalent

Professor Rob Woodgate accepted an invitation to become a member of the AW Howard Memorial Trust Management Committee, a position formerly held by Professor Wayne Hein.

Research Grants Committee

Professor Megan Ryan from the University of WA was invited to join the Research Grants Committee.

Financial Adviser

Andrej Wojciechowski from Ord Minnett, assisted by Jeff Glasson, have continued to advise the Trust on its investment portfolio. Details are in separate Financial Statements for 2022.

Peter Appleford (Chair)

20 April 2023