Future Drought Fund programs

The $5 billion Future Drought Fund is part of the Australian Government’s Drought Response, Resilience and Preparedness Plan.

It provides secure, continuous funding to help Australian farmers and communities become more prepared for, and resilient to, the impacts of drought.

$100 million will be invested from the Future Drought Fund across Australia every year for projects to help strengthen drought resilience.

PIRSA is coordinating the delivery of two Future Drought Fund programs in South Australia:

  • Farm Business Resilience program
  • Regional Drought Resilience Planning program.

These two programs are jointly funded through the Australian Government’s Future Drought Fund and the Government of South Australia.

Farm Business Resilience Program

The Farm Business Resilience Program aims to better prepare Australian farmers to manage risks relating to drought and improve their economic, environmental, and social resilience.

In partnership with Livestock SA, Grain Producers SA, AUSVEG SA and SA Dairyfarmers farmers, farm managers and employees in the South Australian livestock, grains, dairy and vegetable sectors will be able to access industry-led training in:

  • strategic business skills
  • risk management
  • natural resource management
  • personal and social resilience (for example, succession planning).

The program will also support farmers to develop or update their existing farm business plans and connect them with Family and Business Support (FaBS) mentors for one-on-one professional advice on their plan.

Regional Drought Resilience Planning Program

The Regional Drought Resilience Planning Program supports regionally based partnerships to develop regional drought resilience plans. These plans will identify and guide innovative ways to build resilience to future droughts, with a focus on agriculture and allied industries.

Regional plans will be led and owned by the community. Partnerships will be made up of regional organisations, local government, communities, and industry groups, with plans to be developed through a co-design process.

Arrangements for regional partnerships to lead the program in 3 regions in South Australia have been finalised for the foundational year which will run until 30 June 2022.

Regional drought resilience planning will soon begin in these regions:

  • Murraylands and Riverland
  • Yorke Peninsula and Mid North
  • Far North and Outback.

Map of planning regions across Australia

View further information about the drought resilience plans across Australia.

More information

More information will be available on this page as the programs are rolled out over the coming months.

Further information about the Australian Government's Future Drought Fund.


Brett Bartel – Director Recovery
Phone: 08 8429 0353
Email: PIRSA.Drought@sa.gov.au

Page Last Reviewed: 13 Apr 2022
Top of page