Agricultural Town of the Year Award

The South Australian Agricultural Town of the Year award celebrates the important role that agriculture plays in regional communities. In its inaugural year, 43 nominations were received from towns across South Australia.

About the award

The Agricultural Town of the Year award was presented as part of the 2019 South Australian Regional Showcase program in October.

The award aims to recognise:

  • towns supporting and promoting primary industries in all their facets
  • the positive impact this has on regional towns
  • the flow-on effect on community members and the state.

For the latest updates on the 2020 award and nomination process, subscribe to PIRSA news.

2019 Winner

The 2019 Agricultural Town of the Year is Cleve.

Having faced the challenge of drought, Cleve’s community spirit and stories shared, are testament to the town’s resilience and creativity. A small community on the Eyre Peninsula, Cleve is an inspirational agricultural town that has employed a range of activities to improve efficiency and morale.

These include:

  • initiatives aimed at improving physical and mental health
  • continuing to drive farm innovation through field days and other programs
  • encouraging agricultural education programs at the local area school

The agriculture industry in the Cleve area contributes more than 74% of the region’s exports, making it a major contributor to the South Australian economy.

2019 Finalists

An independent judging panel met to determine the finalists for 2019.

The five finalist towns were:

  • Cleve
  • Kapunda
  • Langhorne Creek
  • Millicent
  • Renmark

2019 Nominations

A total of 43 towns were nominated for the 2019 award, these were:

  • Angaston
  • Beachport
  • Blyth
  • Bordertown/Keith
  • Bute
  • Cleve
  • Coonawarra
  • Cowell
  • Crystal Brook
  • Cummins
  • Edithburgh
  • Furner
  • Gawler
  • Goolwa
  • Greenock
  • Kalangadoo
  • Kapunda
  • Kimba
  • Langhorne Creek
  • McLaren Vale
  • Meningie
  • Millicent
  • Minnipa
  • Murray Bridge
  • Myponga
  • Nairne
  • Orroroo
  • Owen
  • Penola
  • Pinnaroo
  • Port Lincoln
  • Renmark
  • Spalding
  • Stansbury
  • Strathalbyn
  • Tantanoola
  • Tanunda
  • Tintinara
  • Virginia
  • Waikerie
  • Willunga
  • Wudinna
  • Yacka
Page Last Reviewed: 22 Aug 2019
Top of page