SA Women involved in National Agriculture Leadership Program

Chosen from a field of more than 120 candidates, three SA women have been selected to participate in a new leadership program for the agriculture sector aimed at helping aspiring female leaders develop their skills and be mentored by an agricultural leader.

The Diversity in Agriculture Leadership Program kicked off in May this year at a workshop in Canberra where participants had the opportunity to meet the program cohort and hear from Federal Agriculture and Water Resources Minister David Littleproud and former Northern Territory Cattleman’s Association Chief Executive Tracey Hayes.

Already vice president of Livestock SA and a director of the Australian Beef Industry Association, Penny Schulz said the program provides a valuable opportunity to learn from other influential women in agriculture while building networks in the industry and developing personal and professional skills.

“It is extremely important to be able to learn from others and share our experiences, as so often our success stems from collaboration and the ability to continue learning and developing,” she said.

“Building successful leaders in agriculture is key to advancing the industry, which already has such an exciting future.”

The Diversity in Agriculture Leadership Program 2018 is supported by the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources, National Farmer’s Federation, AgriFutures Australia, Australian Agricultural Company, Consolidated Pastoral Company, Cotton Australia, NSW Farmers, Monsanto, Rural Bank, Rimfire Resources and Syngenta.

The successful candidates are:

  • Amy Cosby – Willow Grove, Victoria
  • ​Brigid Price – Injune, Queensland
  • Deanna Lush – Palmer, South Australia
  • Lucinda Hawkins – Dubbo, New South Wales
  • Mary Retallack – Crafers West, South Australia
  • Penny Schulz – Field, South Australia
  • Sally Martin – Young, New South Wales
  • Skye Douglass – Neumgna, Queensland.
Page Last Reviewed: 27 Jul 2018
Top of page