Bringing fruit and vegetables into South Australia

Restrictions apply for people bringing fruit, vegetables, other plants and plant products into South Australia.

As of 4 January 2019, if caught with fruit or fruiting vegetables illegally at the Yamba Quarantine Station you will be fined. A zero tolerance approach is also in place at random quarantine roadblock operations in South Australia.

Signs and disposal bins are located across the state including at road entry points, airports and rail terminals. You can use these locations to dispose of restricted products.

Road signs will inform you that you must dispose of restricted fruit and vegetables before you enter South Australia. Additional signs are placed within the state to inform you when you are approaching the Riverland fruit fly exclusion zone.

What you can bring into South Australia

Fresh fruit and fruiting vegetables cannot be carried from interstate into South Australia, unless they comply with import requirements. Commercial importers generally need a plant health certificate or plant health assurance certificate to bring these items into the State.

Uncertified fresh fruit and fruiting vegetables (those generally carried by the travelling public) cannot be brought into the state. Fines and penalties of up $100,000 apply if you breach these regulations and requirements.

For more information see the SA Quarantine brochure (PDF 225.5 KB).

Bringing fruit and vegetables into the South Australian Riverland

Additional restrictions apply for taking fresh fruit and vegetables into the Riverland fruit fly exclusion zone from other parts of South Australia. Learn what you can bring into the Riverland.

Quarantine station locations

You must stop at quarantine stations where you will be checked for any fresh fruit, vegetables, other plants or plant products. Don't risk a fine! From 4 January 2019 if caught with fruit or vegetables illegally at Yamba Quarantine Station you will be fined.

Plant health inspectors can search your vehicle at a quarantine station and take any restricted items.

Permanent quarantine stations are located on the:

  • Sturt Highway at Yamba between Mildura and Renmark
  • Eyre Highway at Ceduna
  • Barrier Highway at Oodla Wirra
  • Mallee Highway between Murrayville and Pinnaroo.

Disposal bin locations

Highways that do not have quarantine stations at entry points to the state have disposal bins that are clearly signed.

You must dispose of all restricted items in the disposal bins. These are located on the:

  • Glenelg Highway near Mount Gambier
  • Nelson Highway near Mount Gambier
  • Princes Highway near Mount Gambier
  • Dukes Highway near Bordertown
  • Stuart Highway at Marla
  • Wimmera Highway near Naracoorte
  • Old Wentworth Road at the State border
  • Purnong Road near Mannum
  • Goyder Highway near Morgan
  • Thiele Highway near Eudunda
  • Sturt Highway near Blanchetown
  • Stott Highway near Sedan
  • Angas Valley Road near Walker Flat
  • Hunter Road near Bow Hill
  • Browns Well Highway near Paruna
  • Karoonda Highway near  Alawoona
  • Oodla Wirra (when quarantine station is closed)
  • Pinnaroo (when quarantine station is closed)

Random roadblocks

Random roadblocks are carried out on roads with disposal bins. You will be fined if you are found with restricted items at roadblocks after you travel past the disposal bins.

Restrictions for all Australian states and territories

South Australian reporting hotlines

  • 24 hour fruit fly hotline: 1300 666 010
  • Plant pests: 1800 084 881
Page Last Reviewed: 07 Dec 2018
Top of page