Seed sprouts

Seed sprout safety is regulated by the Primary Produce (Food Safety Schemes) (Plant Products) Regulations 2006.

All seed sprout producers must:

Seed sprout producers that require accreditation

Accreditation is required if you’re producing the following types of seed sprouts for human consumption:

  • alfalfa
  • broccoli
  • clover
  • onion
  • radish
  • sunflower seeds or other seeds
  • mung beans or other beans
  • snow peas or other peas.

Complete the Seed Sprouts Food Safety Scheme application for accreditation form (PDF 168.1 KB) to become accredited.

Accreditation fees

Application for accreditation fee: $393

Annual accreditation fee: $346

Contact us

For further information, contact

Biosecurity SA
Food Safety Program
GPO Box 1671
Adelaide SA 5001

Phone: (08) 8429 0837

Page Last Reviewed: 26 Jul 2019
Top of page