Partnerships between regional communities, businesses and all tiers of government must evolve and flourish for the state to advance.

They each have a role to play in the work of strengthening regional South Australia.

By working together, industry, governments and communities can take advantage of economic opportunities in regional areas. This can be done by providing infrastructure in sectors such as energy and water to support business endeavour.

Regions SA also specifically collaborates with industry groups and other government bodies including those listed on this page.

Government of South Australia

The Government of South Australia is a major contributor to regional development.

It has responsibility for a wide range of policy areas, some of which are shared with the Australian Government.

The State Government provides services in key areas such as:

  • health
  • education
  • housing
  • courts
  • law enforcement.

Services are provided directly and also through other organisations, including local government and non-government organisations.

The State Government helps regional organisations plan and leverage funding from the Commonwealth for regional priorities identified by Regional Development Australia committees and their local communities.

Visit for more information.

Regional Development Australia

Regional Development Australia (RDA) is a Commonwealth initiative to engage with regional communities.

RDAs were established throughout South Australia by the Commonwealth Government during 2009-10. There are eight South Australian RDA bodies, broadly aligned to the State Government regional boundaries: seven in regional South Australia and one in metropolitan Adelaide.

The seven regional RDAs are funded through a tripartite arrangement between Commonwealth, State and Local governments, under which the State Government is committed to $3 million per annum until 2021-2022.

RDAs are established as incorporated bodies pursuant to the Associations Incorporation Act, 1985. They cover the State Government boundary regions of:

A key focus of RDAs is on regional economic development.

View a map of the South Australian regions (as defined by RDA).

For more information visit the Regional Development Australia website and the Regional Development South Australia website.

Primary Producers SA

The Primary Producers SA (PPSA) council joins the 6 sectors of primary production in South Australia to present a strong, united lobbying voice to government.

Members include an independent chairman, and councillors nominated by:

  • SA Dairy Farmers Association
  • Grain Producers SA
  • Horticulture Coalition of SA
  • Wine Grape Growers Council of SA
  • Livestock SA
  • Pork SA.

Visit Primary Producers SA for more information.

Natural Resources Management Council and Natural Resources Management Boards

The Natural Resource Management (NRM) Council is the state-wide body responsible for the implementation of the Natural Resources Management Act 2004.

It provides advice to the Minister for Sustainability, Environment and Conservation.

Visit Natural Resources Management Council for more information.

Local Government

Local councils, as elected representatives of local communities, are well placed to partner with the State Government on the development of regional plans and formal regional development policy.

Visit Local Government Association of South Australia for more information.

Australian Government

The Australian Government has primary responsibility for developing policy in areas which affect the nation.

This includes overarching areas such as external affairs and trade, and citizenship and immigration. It also includes the creation of Australia-wide policy settings in:

  • education
  • health
  • taxation
  • social security
  • communication.

Visit Australian Government Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development for more information.

Page Last Reviewed: 21 Dec 2017
Top of page